top of page

Sometimes We Just Need to Pray. Chrisette Michele's Fall from Grace. Gives Messy Details and New


Chrisette Michele has been a neo-soul singing favorite with such hits as "A Couple of Forevers" and "Blame it on Me". I have to I love her music. Everything was going great in her world until January 2017 when she sang the national anthem at #45's inauguration and her die hard fans turned their back on her. In what she describes as "choice shaming" the citizens of the internet lashed out at the singer for betraying her fellow African Americans and "singing for the enemy".

After the backlash and "black balling" Chrisette Michele seemed to disappear from the face of the earth. Until now. The artist took to her Instagram page to air her dirty laundry, vent her feelings and post some pretty graphic pictures.

She started the posting rant by admitting to the fact that after the #45 debacle she suffered suicidal thoughts AND actions.

"When you're laying in bed naked, next to a bottle of Bacardi and Xanex. When you wear pajamas Morning and night. When you don't pick up the phone for weeks, months. When you're afraid to look at social media.I know I've sown positive seeds. I know I've lifted people. I know I've been a part of community activations and black empowerment. When a community sticks its middle finger up at you and completely forgets everything you've ever done, you're worthless..."

About her miscarriage:

"I had a long cycle. Something came out of me. It was my child. The one my love and I worked so hard on. I never knew I could allow myself to be so broken that my physical body would break down. A miscarriage? Me?"

This post was also accompanied by a graphic photo of the miscarriage that is not for sensitive stomachs. To view the photo, click here.

The final straw in all of her woes came when her record label decided to drop her.

"complete an entire album and my label decides to walk away from me. Capitol records. I was quiet for a few days... I go into the studio and literally poured out my heart and soul and the label decides to walk away from me?"

"No victims here. I get it.... But absolutely human here. How hard can you try to break someone? How hard can you try to ruin someone? How much hate do you need to spew to show me you want to see my demise?"

Even through all of this, Chrisette Michele remains positive, even releasing new music which appears to have become the soundtrack to her life. "Strong Black Woman". Take a listen to a snippet of the track below.

Let's hope and pray that she can find some peace after this storm. Best of luck to her on her new endeavors.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
SSIY Skyscraper.jpg
PPlus_24KidsFam_LK_DP_TIF_120x600.jpeg
bottom of page